Backup Instruments Dynon D2

The place to raise issues, ask questions, swap ideas and discuss anything related to aircraft engineering, maintenance and building.
NB Any opinions expressed in this forum are not necessarily those of LAA Engineering

Moderators: John Dean, Moderator

Backup Instruments Dynon D2

Postby captain solo » Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:19 pm

http://www.lightaircraftassociation.co. ... rcraft.pdf

Can anybody tell me why the D2 is not on the list of approved units. I have Dynon throughout and would have preferred to keep the same.
Thank you in advance
John
John Bate
039193
captain solo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 5:35 pm

Re: Backup Instruments Dynon D2

Postby PaulSS » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:30 pm

The use of other electronic backup instruments must be approved by LAA Engineering, e.g. by means of a modification approval or indication of the approved configuration in the type’s TADS. Note that as additional models are investigated as part of modification approvals, these will be listed here if appropriate.


I'm not deliberately trying to sound facetious but maybe nobody has applied for a modification of that particular instrument. If it does what all the others do then surely it would be permitted.
Paul Simmonds-Short
042301
PaulSS
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:04 am

Re: Backup Instruments Dynon D2

Postby AlanR » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:17 pm

I don't know but I rather suspect the reason is that the Dynon D2 does not display Indicated Air Speed, only displaying GPS speed.
Alan Radford
031071
AlanR
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:50 pm
Location: Midlands

Re: Backup Instruments Dynon D2

Postby captain solo » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:56 pm

Alan - that makes perfect sense - thank you for replying. Kindest regards, John
John Bate
039193
captain solo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 5:35 pm

Re: Backup Instruments Dynon D2

Postby Red Comet » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:50 am

it could be because the Dynon horizon depends on GPS. If the GPS signal is lost, the horizon attitude is lost. (Try switching it on indoors). A standby instrument should be self contained.
Best Wishes etc

Pete
Peter Noonan
039180
Red Comet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 10:50 pm

Re: Backup Instruments Dynon D2

Postby mike newall » Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:03 pm

It is because the architecture of the D2 is too similar to the Skyview and there is a perceived risk that a software glitch could disable both the Skyview and the D2.
The Garmin G5 is disimilar to the G3 and therefore satisfies the requirements.
If you want a reasonably priced standby ASI/Alti that is on the list, look at the MGL combined unit. It is available in 2 1/4" and 3 1/8" but requires a backup battery. I have a backup battery system built, not difficult.
025807
mike newall
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:56 pm
Location: N Yorkshire


Return to Aircraft Construction & Maintenance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron